Board of Directors

The Stone Trust has an active board including professional dry stone wallers and members of other professions who are interested in dry stone walls.  If you are interested in serving on the board of directors, please contact us for more information.

Pete Ryder, President

Pete Ryder (New Hampshire) got the walling bug in 2015 at a workshop at The Stone Trust. After 32 years in aerospace engineering, working with stone was a big change and tremendously gratifying. Dry Stone Walling has been a growing obsession ever since. In 2016 he founded Touched By Stone LLC to build dry stone walls and features in southern New Hampshire. Pete is a DSWA Level 2 certified waller, and serves on The Stone Trust Board of Directors.

Pete Ryder at a stairs workshop at The Stone Trust

Kim Coggin, Vice President

Kim has been building dry stone walls and structures since 2008. Kim’s journey in stone started shortly after relocating to Pennsylvania from the Southeast, when she became enamored with the numerous covered bridges, stone walls, furnaces, and other historical artifacts in Pennsylvania.

Kim currently holds a Level Two Certificate from the DSWA, and is also a Certified Instructor.  Kim is also an avid faux artist and muralist.  This training gives Kim a unique and profound perspective on the artistic aspects inherent in dry stone creations.

Judy Rand, Secretary

Judy Rand came to a workshop at The Stone Trust in 2014 looking to learn how to fix a wall on her property. Judy found a love for building stone walls and attended many workshops and became Level 1 Certified at The Stone Trust. In 2017 she traveled to England and after walling there for a few weeks gained her Level 2 DSWA-GB Certification in Derbyshire.

In addition to being a Board Member, Judy is a dedicated volunteer at The Stone Trust, and a Certified Instructor.

Judy and her instructor, Trever Wragg, standing next to her successful Level II (Intermediate) Test Wall in Derbyshire, England.

Jerry Coggin, Treasurer

Jerry Coggin (Pennsylvania) co-owns and operates Laurel Stoneworks with his wife Kim (also a director of The Stone Trust) Jerry currently has a Level Two Certificate from the Dry Stone Walling Association of Great Britain, and is also certified instructors. Jerry has an extensive background in accounting and for now still has a day job doing non-walling work.

Jerry Coggin
Jerry Coggin

Michael Murphy, Board Member

Began walling in 2006 and is now a DSWA-GB Level III, Advanced, Certified Waller, a Dry Stone Conservancy (DSC) Journeyman, as well as a Certified Instructor with both the DSWA and DSC. Michael works in Michigan and in Vermont where he now spends part of each year. He is a wonderful instructor and enjoys traveling to stone events and festivals throughout North America.

Michael Murphy dry stone waller
Michael Murphy

Jordan Keyes, Board Member

As member of Trow & Holden Company’s management team, Jordan’s expertise lies in the manufacturing, sale, and continued development of stoneworking tools. His work with The Stone Trust and walling has become the confluence of personal and professional pursuits. Jordan is a DSWA Level 2 certified waller and Certified Instructor.

Jordan Keyes


Amy-Louise Pfeffer, Executive Director

Amy Louise joined the Stone Trust in November 2019 as the Executive Director.

Brian Post, Education and Training Director

Brian starting building walls at age 10.  Since then he has continued working with stone whenever possible.  In 2006 he graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Landscape Architecture from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry.   As part of his studies he spent 4 months in England, Scotland, and Wales working with several wallers including DSWA-GB Master Craftsmen, Andrew Louden and Sean Adcock.

Brian gained his Master Craftsman (Level IV) Certificate from the DSWA, in 2016, and is a Certified Instructor and Examiner.  Brian is also a Licensed Landscape Architect in the State of Vermont.  Brian regularly works both in the design studio and in the field.   In 2010 he started his own firm, Landscape Architecture.  Brian was on the board of directors for the stone trust starting in 2012 and was the president from Nov. 2013 – June 2015. He then served as the Executive Director until November 2019.  Transitioning to the newly created part time position of Education and training director has allowed Brian to focus his attention on the areas he knows best, and most importantly allowed him to get back to his his love of working with stone and building dry stone walls.

Brian Post

Administrative Assistant

Theresa has a vast experience providing office support for many small businesses and non-profits in Southern VT.   Her skill and experience has been vital to keeping the office operations running smoothly.

Theresa Spear